Why Vancouver?

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Vancouver has been faithfully serving Catholics in British Columbia since its creation by Pope Pius X in 1908.

Archbishop Miller

Archbishop Miller

Led by Archbishop J. Michael Miller, CSB, the Archdiocese covers roughly two-thirds of the province and has roughly 450,000 baptized Catholics within its boundaries. Archbishop Miller is the leader of the Archdiocese, tending to both the spiritual and administrative needs of the Archdiocese.

Today, the Archdiocese includes part of the Province of British Columbia and includes the suffragan dioceses of Kamloops, Nelson, Prince George, and Victoria.

The local Church has undergone massive change since the mission outposts of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate of the 1800s. As of 2011, the Archdiocese contains 76 parishes, 12 missions, nearly 106 diocesan priests, 99 religious priests, and 478,000 Catholics. It also has 110 religious sisters and 14 religious brothers.There are 51 Catholic schools as well as hospitals, colleges, and a seminary. Within the Archdiocese there are also numerous church buildings, organizations, ministries and clubs that carry out the Church’s mission.

The large number of baptized Catholics, as well as the extensive infrastructure of the Archdiocese, supports the implementation of the Archdiocesan Synod. The Synod acts as a roadmap and plan for the Archdiocese that invites the faithful to pray, worship, evangelize, and serve.